Enjoy the Rainbows

I had another name for this blog a week ago, but I don’t remember what it was. This will be short as I don’t have time to elaborate. I promised everyone I would write a post over a week ago and I have been on overload for a few months now and each day seems to keep me busy until I wake up and do it again. Without further a due, here goes.

When people see me today, the person I am, they believe this is who I’ve always been. In many ways they are right. I’ve always had a heart for people, animals and harmony. I longed to see harmony in all things my whole life. But, the way I went about doing things to create harmony when I was younger looked nothing like the way I go about bringing it forth today.

I used to think that everything depended on me changing things. I now know that everything depends on me being changed. Let me say that again. I used to think everything depended on me changing things. I now know that everything depends on me being changed. Or, me being the change. I pray this helps you.

I have many regrets because I lacked vision, wisdom and foresight. Many of you don’t realize that you will regret tomorrow by what you are doing today. Why? Because, you lack what I lacked then. We all lack vision to a degree, when we only see our limited view, our perspective, limited by our experiences. Today, if I could go back 30 years, this is what I would say to me, in this order.

Michelle this may sound strange, weird or off the wall. But, because I know the outcome of your choices, if you really want, what you really want, here is how you go about getting what your really want.

1. Find Jesus. Don’t settle for someone else’s opinion or experience of Him. You find Him and don’t stop until you do. Make finding Jesus and living in His presence your number 1 ambition.

2. Get over yourself. Stop feeling sorry for yourself and treat others like you want to be treated. The pity parties need to go, once and for all. They are your number one weakness. Get rid of them now.

3. Respect your parents. Do for them, more than they’ve done for you. Respect your elders. If someone is 10 seconds older than you respect them. Don’t get offended by anything they do. It will cause you more detriment than you’re prepared to deal with.

4. Above all things, spend time with your family. Put your ambitions in a waste basket, catch them on fire if need be and put a date on the calendar every month to visit a family member. Include everyone you know and search out the ones you don’t know. Find out where you are from and embrace your heritage.

5. Find a church that exalts Jesus. Go often, but not all the time. Don’t look for people in the church to replace the family that you wished you had. Meaning, because you hardly see your family. Be, the family that they wished they had, as you become a better family member yourself.

6. Serve everyone you meet in the giftings and talents that you have. Smile often, but shake hands and hug even more. Don’t promise something that you can’t deliver on. But, make promises and keep them when you make them.

7. Don’t date until your mature enough to get married. When you do, be choosy, selective and don’t even date anyone who is self centered. If they aren’t your best friend, move on in grace and be patient until your best friend shows up.

8. Enjoy every minute of your life. Not by being selfish, by enjoying every minute..the good, bad and ugly. Enjoy your life, it’s the only one you have.

9. Show love to all. Put away all criticism and realize we all are one minute away from loosing it.

10. Pray for everyone you meet, even if for 30 seconds. Believe the best and be prepared for the worst.

11. Let your children see the love of God in you above all else. Nothing else matters in this life except the love of God. Make that available to your children no matter what you face. Don’t be so hard on yourself…no one can be a perfect anything. Make love your ambition and you’ll never fail.

12. Breathe. Forgive yourself. Cry. Laugh. Believe. Hope. Endure. Scream. Breathe.

13. Enjoy the rainbows. God will give you many rainbows to remind you that He never forgets His promises. All of your dreams will come true and when they do, remember who brought them about. It wasn’t ever your dream to begin with. It was His. He wants His dreams for you to come true. Enjoy the rainbows.

Rainbows

3 thoughts on “Enjoy the Rainbows

Leave a comment