We Have Value

I believe there is a wave of some very serious thoughts that we may meditate on regularly. They are thoughts on inadequacy and defeat. Let’s clear the air, clear our minds and agree with one concept,  we have value.

Me and Sparkles

Last night my husband, daughter, son and nephew went to the ceremony of our, soon to be daughter in-law’s graduation from college. Although I knew it would be a memorable evening, I had not been expecting what I am about to tell you.

The person who gave the 1/2 hr. motivational speech to the graduates, had wonderful, inspiring, moving and convicting things to say. But, the story that grabbed my heart the most, was the one about his own mother. No, he did not say what a great mother she was. Although I’m sure he had those stories too, the story he told, was what the audience needed to hear.

It was what I needed to hear. It was as though the story of her life was written just for us. I have forgotten some of the facts, but the concepts and details that etched their way into my heart, is what I will reveal today.

He talked about a woman, who helped in her church, no she was not the pastor, she was not the worship leader, I believe she either worked in an office or with children. She did not hold a significant title, but she was remembered by all she came in contact with. Apparently this woman worked with parents who just gave birth, or in pediatrics.

Her role was to give support to the parents of newborn babies. She held babies in her arms, she held the parents in her heart and arms as well. If a baby died, she did what no one else did, she went to the funeral. Yes that’s right, she did above and beyond what she was asked to do. Some might call her an different, I want to think of her as someone of value.

He said, if I remember correctly, in her life time she attended 20,000 funerals. He never knew any of this until he attended hers. When talking to all the people who showed up, they all remarked how her kindness and generosity left a lasting impression on them. She was a woman of value who impacted those around her.

She left such an impression, on the people where she worked at, that they asked if the funeral procession would drive by the hospital so that all the workers could pay there last respects. I have never heard of a request like this before? Have you? If I were to die today, I know that I would not get that kind of request for me.

She did not need the approval of others, she did what was in her heart to do. One woman without any title left an impression on at least 20,000 people in her lifetime by doing what no one else would do. She went the extra mile in kindness, compassion and generosity. She showed up, when others stayed home. She did what was uncomfortable when other sought comfort.

I want to say to you today you have value tooSomeone needs you to be kind to them. Someone needs you to show them what possibly no one else will. You have people in your life that need you. You have something that no one else does, you could very easily impact 20,000 people in your lifetime. The world needs world changers, not on platforms but in homes, offices, gas stations, parking lots, hospitals, horse farms, dog kennels, churches, nursing homes, children’s centers, hospitals, ice skating rinks, fast food restaurants, there is no end to where we can go, and no end to the needs.

The question isn’t are we important? The question is why are we listening to ideas that don’t make sense? The truth is, pain is everywhere. We could be valuable to the people we come in contact with every day. People need us, we just need to open up our eyes and ears and respond.

Here are a few points to consider:

  1. Be quick to listen and slow to speak.
  2. Be persistent in filling needs without being asked
  3. Get uncomfortable.
  4. Don’t tell the world of your mission.
  5. Embrace what you could be.
  6. Be joyful, humble, teachable, and persistent in noticing others.

Lord nullify the voices that tell us we aren’t good enough, smart enough, young enough, old enough, big enough, small enough, educated enough, average enough, pretty enough, rich enough….etc. Open our eyes and hearts to the people we see everyday. Give us your heart to serve others. 🙂

Thanks for reading,

Michelle

 

6 thoughts on “We Have Value

  1. Wow! That is so awesome! Wonderfully written Michelle! Thank you for writing this. Life giving & convicting. I know this is from the Spirit of God! Be His Hands &.feet to people.

    • I felt it was needed! That is why I did not wait!! I hope everyone embraces the hope of their calling!

  2. Beautiful! What a picture that must of been when the funeral procession drove by the hospital to honor her and her life’s work. Powerful.

  3. Yeah, this testimony like many others helps to propel me forward, I want to bring as many people with me as possible! Thanks for your comment!

    • Thanks for commenting Valencia! This testimony is burning inside of me, and the simplicity of the message needs to be told! Thanks again!

Leave a comment