What Happened After Jericho?

We all know “THE BATTLE OF JERICHO” story…..but does anyone know what happens next? Recently at our church the call for Holiness is at the forefront of every thought I have. In a desire to be Holy as He is Holy, I have challenged myself to up the anti in my own walk! I am doing things I have never done before and the results are, experiencing things I have never experienced before!!!

The word of God is being poured in me like never before and I am hearing things I have never heard before. I am asking myself does anyone know this or has everyone just forgotten? We have all heard of the Battle of Jericho….RIGHT? I don’t recall ever hearing about what happened after Jericho?…. I have read the Bible from front to back, side to side and back to front for over 18 years, but didn’t recall before yesterday, the next part of the story.

Many things happen…first off Joshua is a commander of an army extra ordinary. He obeys the Lord to the letter, when the Lord finds someone who will  listen,…what get’s accomplished is AWESOME! Joshua and his army is conquering everyone and taking the land that the Lord promised, but then something happens!

The Lord specifically tells Joshua, make sure that all the plunder is given to me as an offering and don’t keep any for yourselves. What do you think these people do??? Yes you guessed it, ONE person decided to keep some of the plunder for themselves and check out what happened!!!

They go into the next territory which was called Ai, when they get there, Ai attacks them..They retreat, after some of Israelites were killed..This made Joshua and the whole camp be full of sorrow! Joshua tore his clothes and laid on the ground crying out to God asking why He would do such a thing. The Lord answered, He said,

Josua7:10 The Lord said to Joshua, “Stand up! What are you doing down on your face? 11 Israel has sinned; they have violated my covenant, which I commanded them to keep. They have taken some of the devoted things; they have stolen, they have lied, they have put them with their own possessions. 12 That is why the Israelites cannot stand against their enemies; they turn their backs and run because they have been made liable to destruction. I will not be with you anymore unless you destroy whatever among you is devoted to destruction.

WOW!!! This changes everything doesn’t it? Most preach, it’s under the blood! I say, who’s blood are we willing to shed because we want to hold on to the very thing that is suppose to be an offering unto the Lord! You can read the rest of the story, I would suggest that you do! But this is what I gathered….ONE PERSON’S SIN can destroy the favor of God on an entire community!!!!

The next time before we decide a small thing that we do, won’t offend the Lord. Maybe we should read this story again and ask ourselves, is it worth dying for? Is it worth destroying my future for? Is it worth destroying my family’s future for? Is it worth destroying my church families’ future for? Who’s blood am I willing to spill over this little thing? The Lord of Lord and King of King’s is the same today, yesterday and forever! He does NOT change! Don’t you think it is time to be a PEOPLE who don’t change with Him?

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Happened After Jericho?

Leave a comment